The Occidental Tourist

Today was my first free day, and I planned visits to a couple of local tourist attractions.  Before I hit the streets, though, I dutifully practiced my limited Khmer (“khnom jung teow” or “I want to go to . . .”).  However, my tuk tuk driver, Jack, spoke very good English, thus spoiling my practice opportunity a bit (though I did throw a couple of phrases at him). Jack took me first to the National Museum of Cambodia. It is an impressive place with art and artifacts from as early as the 5th century.

Unfortunately, I’m really not much of an art or history buff, so I made my rounds in less than an hour and then went looking for Jack a little earlier than we had planned. He was faithfully waiting for me outside the entrance. In a strange land, there’s something very reassuring about having a trusted tuk tuk driver. We then headed to the Russian Market, which is a large indoor flea market – very popular with tourists. They sell everything under the sun – meats, fruits, vegetables, spices, watches, jewelry, clothing, DVDs, books, kitchen accessories, used auto parts – you name it, they sell it. I bought a few things at a very reasonable price and then went looking for lunch.

I found a restaurant with a shaded patio on a busy street corner. I asked for a menu but the manager said there was no menu – the only dish was chicken and rice. Well, I like chicken and rice, so I went with that. I have to say it was the boniest chicken I had ever had. It was kind of like eating fish. I was pulling bones out of every bite. It was tasty enough, but I began to wonder if perhaps it wasn’t chicken. I don’t remember chicken being quite that bony. In any case, lunch only came to $3 (including a soda), so I guess I shouldn’t complain.

After I made it back to home base, the housekeeper insisted I try some of the lunch she had prepared. I said I had eaten but would be happy to try some. Here’s photo of the meal. The little brown guys in the clear bowl towards the top of the photo are caterpillar larvae. I didn’t want to offend her, so I tried a couple – not too bad.

cambodian meal 2_16_13

Healthy traditional Cambodian fare

2 thoughts on “The Occidental Tourist

Leave a comment